The Dream Materializes

I am SO excited!

I have been keeping honeybees in Kenwood, California since May 2008 where  I started with one hive. I have now built it up to four – so far. I love my honeybees (as well as all living things) but I especially wanted to do something to help preserve and protect the bees I have brought home to be under my care.

“Randy Sue’s Bee Haven” started with a desire to create a garden where the “girls” could forage all year long. After visiting several gardens and sanctuaries, like the Melissa Garden in Sebastopol,  http://www.themelissagarden.com/index.html, I decided to create a sanctuary for my bees. I’m now in the process of making a pollinator’s garden consisting of bee-friendly flowers, fruits and vegetables.

Mark and Kathleen Bunte, owner/operators of Sonoma Valley Landscape in Kenwood, California~ (707) 217-4988 or (707) 217-9336 are helping me get ready to plant.

The Beginning

Day 1, MArch 22, 2009

March 25, 2009 ~ Day 1 ~ I mowed yesterday, so now Mark, and his employee, Jesus, will begin soil prep.

day-2

March 25, 2009 ~ Day 1 – Jesus is adding the calcium to the soil. It’s crushed oyster shells from the Bay Area that were barged into Petaluma for processing. Mark determined the soil was calcium deficient so he balanced it out to promote microbial growth which promotes healthy, thriving plants.

day-2-adding-calcium

March 25, 2009 ~ Day 1 – Mark has begun to dig the trench to bring water to the garden.

day-2-digging-water-trench

2 Responses to The Dream Materializes

  1. Great start, Randy! What a view you have in your garden…The pictures really capture the picturesque harmony you have there.
    Love the beginnings of the garden!
    Kathleen

  2. Thea says:

    As a sister beekeeper, I am so in awe of what you are doing and have done! The Kenwood bees are very thankful! Keep up the good work!
    Thea

Leave a Reply

