Summertime is here!

The plants are growing nicely. The sunflower is over 8 feet tall!

June in the garden. The plants are growing nicely. Tomatoes, potatoes, carrots, calendula, helichrysum, purple and white assorted lavenders, tomatoes, peppers, sage, oregano, basil, lemon verbena (ahhh, makes the BEST iced tea with honey added!) spinach, hyssop, rosemary, melons, cucumbers, hypericum, lettuce, raspberries and several other plants unnamed. The sunflower is over 8 feet tall!

I planted green beans to grow on the trellis, and they are doing well.

I planted green beans to grow on the trellis, and they are doing well.

You can see the scrumptious beans clinging to the trellis.

You can see the scrumptious beans clinging to the trellis.

I designed the hexagonal hive and had my friend Chris Grippi build it. HE did a great job and I am convinced a round environment makes for happier bees!

I designed the hexagonal hive and had my friend Chris Grippi, owner of Horizon Builders in Sonoma, CA build it. He did a great job and I am convinced a round environment makes for happier bees!

I bought this composter from Costco for $200 3 weeks ago. I reserve comments for a few more weeks until I get my first batch of compost. It took several hours to put together even though the directions were very clear. There are a lot of parts. Costco includes the stand that you see. It has wheels on it so I can turn the composter every few days quite easily. When ready, I should be able to roll the compost directly to where I need it.

I bought this composter from Costco for $200 3 weeks ago. I reserve comments for a few more weeks until I get my first batch of compost. It took several hours to put together even though the directions were very clear. There are a lot of parts. Costco includes the stand that you see. It has wheels on it so I can turn the composter every few days quite easily. When ready, I should be able to roll the compost directly to where I need it.

Here are 6 of my 12 hives. All are thriving with little intervention from me. I do not use any chemiclas or medications in my hives or in my garden. I leave the honeybees to reproduce and thrive as nature intended with the only exception being the artificial home I've offered them to live in. I am hoping to eliminate all my square boxes in future and just use hexagonal hives. When I inspected the hex-hive, I found lots of gentle, relaxed bees humming happily even with the lid off. When I peeked into my round wicker hive I found the same content, happy bees. I inspected every square box, I found those bees angry and aggressive. I even got stung, which doesn't usually happen.

Here are 6 of my 12 hives. All are thriving with little intervention from me. I do not use any chemicals or medications in my hives or in my garden. I leave the honeybees to reproduce and thrive as nature intended with the only exception being the artificial home I've offered them to live in. I am hoping to eliminate all my square box hives in future and just use hexagonal hives. When I inspected the hex-hive, I found lots of gentle, relaxed bees humming happily even with the lid off. When I peeked into my round wicker hive I found those bees to be content and happy as well. When I inspected every square box, I found those bees to be angry and aggressive. I even got stung, which doesn't usually happen. Boy does that hurt!

The wildflowers are as high as an elephant's eye on the other side of the property. I leave it wild. The bees LOVE it. Lots of poppies, mustard and other wildflowers they can feed from.

The wildflowers are as high as an elephant's eye on the other side of the property. I leave it wild. Some people view it as a fire hazard. I see it as a wonderful place for the bees to forage. They LOVE it. Lots of poppies, mustard and other wildflowers to fill their pollen baskets and nectar stomachs.

Leave a Reply

